Sophisticated & Coarse | Notes & Thoughts

  • 09:23:32 pm on January 13, 2009 | 1

    While Myspace is great for bands (today a lot of them don’t even have a normal website any more) I think it’s not so very good for social networking and is in this respect it can be really annoying as you can see from the following example.

    OK, about a month ago I got an e-mail from Myspace with the following content:

    Myspace Birthday notification e-mail

    Myspace Birthday notification e-mail

    The first annoying thing here is that the name of the Myspace user that has it’s birthday is not in the e-mail. They probably do this for privacy reasons or to make you go to their website (probably for advertising reasons), whatsoever. So on the same day I received the above message I clicked the “Visit MySpace”-link and ended up here…

    No Birthday - Myspace

    No Birthday (Screenshot from msypace.com)

    So OK now, they send me this email telleing me that “One or more of your friends have birthdays coming up this week” and then on their site tell me that none of my friends have their birthday this week. What the f*** is this supposed to be, considering the fact that in the fine print on the bottom of the e-mail it says “We have sent you this notification to facilitate your use as a member of the Myspace.com service”.

    Anyway, in general I don’t get many messages from Myspace but there are still a lot of other things to annoy me about this service. Probably I will write a bit more about this here in the futre.

     

Comments

  • Antonia 14:24 on January 14, 2009 | #

    *räusper* da fehlt ein s bei Myspace in der ersten Zeile…


Leave a Reply

